Lagman: Eight SC justices who voted to nullify Sereno appointment as CJ “deserve to be impeached”

(Eagle News)— Albay Rep. Edcel Lagman on Friday, May 18, said the eight Supreme Court justices who voted to grant the quo warranto petition nullifying the appointment of Maria Lourdes Sereno as Chief Justice “deserve to be impeached.”

In a statement, Lagman said this was the rule “if magistrates who are sworn to uphold the Constitution, subvert the very fundamental law by arrogating jurisdiction over an impeachable official.”

In this case, he said he believes Associate Justices Teresita Leonardo-De Castro, Lucas Bersamin, Diosdado Peralta, Francis Jardeleza, Noel Tijam, Samuel Martires, Andres Reyes Jr., and Alexander Gesmundo were guilty of culpable violation of the Constitution, among others.

In the first place, he said the Constitution “unequivocally mandates that it is only by impeachment instituted by the House of Representatives and conviction by the Senate can an impeachable official be removed from office.”

No other procedure, he said, is allowed.

“Certainly not an aberration of a quo warranto action,” he said.

He said the fact that the majority of the Supreme Court voted for the same “would not cleanse the gross blunder committed by the eight justices.”

“The act of promulgating their unconstitutional decision completes the consummation of the impeachable offenses..Only a contrite and complete recantation by reconsidering their unlawful, controversial and unpopular decision can save the eight justices from impeachment,” he said.

Earlier, Rep. Tom Villarin revealed plans he would file an impeachment complaint against the justices.