Inter-agency Task Force to deploy 140 buses for commuters affected by MRT-3 maintenance shutdown next week

(Eagle News) — More than 100 buses will be deployed in Metro Manila for commuters affected by the maintenance shutdown of the Metro Rail Transit 3 next week.

In a statement, the Department of Transportation said the 140 public utility buses will be deployed from April 15 to 17 and April 20 to 21 and will follow the MRT-3 northbound and southbound routes from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.

“Participating bus units will be particularly identified with proper signage,” the DOTr said.

The DOTr said as for the north and south staging areas, they will be located on West Ave. corner Edsa in Quezon City, and Roxas Boulevard corner Edsa in Pasay, respectively.

It said the bus fares are based on the MRT-3 fare matrix “provided that the passenger’s destination is anywhere along the MRT-3 line.”

“However, destinations beyond the line will follow normal bus fares,” the DOTr said.

According to the DOTr, the details of the MRT-3 bus augmentation program were finalized during a meeting of the inter-agency task force composed of the DOTr, LTFRB, MRT-3, Land Transportation Office, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority and the Inter-agency Council for Traffic, bus operators and companies on Wednesday, April 10, at the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board Central Office.

The MRT-3 shutdown will take place from April 15 to 21.

The DOTr said a longer suspension of operations¬† was needed “due to the current degraded condition of the railway.”

“Some of the major works to be conducted include the replacement of critical turnouts or switches, rail grinding, structural testing, topographic survey and monitoring plan activities for MRT-3 structures,” the DOTr said.

“Preventive and repair activities aim to improve the reliability of the system, which the agency shall implement in parallel with the comprehensive rehabilitation and overhaul of the entire MRT-3 system,” the DOTr added.

The MRT-3 will resume operations on April 22, Monday, at 5:30 a.m.