INC film “Felix Manalo” bags 5 FAMAS awards



The poster for the historical bio-epic “Felix Manalo”


(Eagle News) – The Iglesia Ni Cristo historical biographical film, “Felix Manalo” bagged a total of five awards, including the much coveted “Best Picture” in the 64th FAMAS (Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences) awards Sunday night (December 4).

The film about the first executive minister of the Iglesia Ni Cristo also bagged the Best Director award for Joel Lamangan, Best Actor for lead star Dennis Trillo, Best Theme Song for “Ang Sugo ng Diyos sa mga Huling Araw” which was sung by Sarah Geronimo, and
Best Screenplay for INC minister Brother Bienvenido Santiago.

During the awards night, those behind the film thanked God for making this possible. They also thanked INC Executive Minister Brother Eduardo V. Manalo for his guidance and support.

In his acceptance speech, actor Dennis Trillo, thanked the film producers, VIVA Films, and director Joel Lamangan for having chosen him to play the lead role in the film. He also thanked the INC brethren for the love and support they had shown to him while doing the film. This was his first-ever FAMAS best actor award, Trillo said.

Director Joel Lamangan also thanked INC and Viva Films for the support they have given in the film’s production.


A photo grabbed from the Iglesia Ni Cristo's historical biographical film, "Felix Manalo" produced by Viva Films. (Eagle News Service)
A photo grabbed from the Iglesia Ni Cristo’s historical biographical film, “Felix Manalo” produced by Viva Films. (Eagle News Service)


"Ang Sugo ng Diyos sa mga Huling Araw," theme song of the historical biographical film, "Felix Manalo" also won as Best Theme Song in the 64th FAMAS awards held Sunday night (December 4). The movie's theme song was sung by singer-actress Sarah Geronimo. (Eagle News Service)
“Ang Sugo ng Diyos sa mga Huling Araw,” theme song of the historical biographical film, “Felix Manalo” also won as Best Theme Song in the 64th FAMAS awards held Sunday night (December 4). The movie’s theme song was sung by singer-actress Sarah Geronimo. (Eagle News Service)


From the Grand Ballroom of the Century Park Hotel in Manila, the evening started off well for the movie “Felix Manalo”, with its first win early in the evening for Best Screenplay.  The award was accepted by Dr. Sergie Santos on behalf of INC minister Bienvenido Santiago.

It ended with Felix Manalo’s big win for Best Film accepted by representatives of Viva Films, the film’s Best Director awardee, Joel Lamangan, and Dr. Sergie Santos representing the INC.

The film dramatized the early years of the INC which was registered in the Philippines on July 27, 1914 by its first executive minister, Felix Y. Manalo who is regarded by INC members as the fulfillment of the biblical prophecy on God’s last messenger.

For some of the night’s other categories, Andi Eigenmann received her award for Best Actress for her performance in the Carlo J. Caparas film “Angela Markado.” She was nominated this year for two films, “Angela Markado” & “Tragic Theatre.”

Renowned veteran actress Batangas Representative Vilma Santos-Recto was the recipient of this year’s FAMAS Presidential award. Robin Padilla entertained the audience as he accepted the honor of the Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award.

The other FAMAS winners were the following:
Gabby Concepcion – Best Supporting Actor (Crazy Beautiful You)
Lorna Tolentino — Best Supporting Actress (Crazy Beautiful You)
JM Ibanez – Best Child Performer (Crazy Beautiful You)
Shari Marie Montiague – Best Production Design (You’re My Boss)
Addiss Tabong – Best Production Design (You’re My Boss)
Vincent Ilagan and Mike Velasquez – Best Visual Effects award (Angela Markado)
Robby Tantingco – Best Story (Ari: My Life with a King)
Carlo Francisco Manatad – Best Editing (Para sa Hopeless Romantic)
Cesar Francis Concio – Best Musical Score (A Love Affair)
Rain Yamson – Best Cinematography (Silong)

The special awards given by FAMAS on Sunday night were the following:
Presidential Award for Vilma Santos-Recto
Famas Lifetime Achievement Award for Gloria Sevilla
Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Robin Padilla
Dr. Jose Perez Memorial Award for Jojo Gabinete
Arturo M. Padua Memorial Award for Danny Dolor
Father of Visual Poetry Award for Doc Penpen B. Takipsilim
German Moreno Youth Achievement Awards for Jak Roberto, Sanya Lopez and Gabbi Garcia
Recognition for Outstanding Performance for Arnold Reyes
2016 Advocacy Film Award for Alvin Yapan’s “EDSA”

The best new female artist went to Ysabelle Peach (Angela Markado), while the actor par excellence went to Piolo Pascual (Silong). The director par excellence and screenplay par excellence award was given to Carlo J. Caparas (Angela Markado).

Chief Public Attorney Dr. Persida V. Rueda Acosta was given a special citation, while the late German Moreno was given a posthumous award.

Piolo Pascual and Lorna Tolentino were chosen as the male and female Stars of the Night, while Robi Domingo and Jean Garcia were chosen to receive the Male and Female Look of the Night awards.

Aside from the hosts, Piolo Pascual, Jean Garcia, Sunshine Dizon, Enchong Dee, and Robi Domingo, the evening was filled with many recognizable faces and peers in the Filipino film industry. As they recognized their colleagues in their marveled achievements, they also enjoyed a night filled with entertaining performances from Dulce, Mark Mabasa, Jeremiah, and Net25 talents Babi Crisostomo, Apple Chiu and Chadleen Lac-doo.