Duterte signs law renaming Compostela Valley as Davao de Oro

(Eagle News)–President Rodrigo Duterte has signed a law changing the name Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro.

The renaming, however, shall be “subject to ratification by a majority of the votes cast by the qualified voters in a plebiscite” to be conducted in the province, Republic Act 11297 signed by Duterte on April 17 said.

Earlier, provincial officials said they wanted to make the name change as Compostela Valley was the only province in the Davao region that did not bear the word Davao.

Apart from Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur and Davao Occidental comprise the region.