Spurs’ Gregg Popovich named Coach of the Year

Popovich won the award for the third time after leading the Spurs to a league-best 62-20 record, including a franchise-best 30-11 on the road. San Antonio won 19 consecutive games from Feb. 26 to April 2, the longest streak in team history and tied for the fifth longest in NBA history. The Spurs dominated even as no player averaged at least 30 minutes per game — an NBA first — and used 30 different starting lineups, second most in the league.