Pres. Duterte and family safe, unhurt in Davao City after 6.9 quake strikes Davao del Sur; strong aftershocks felt

Courtesy Phivolcs


(Eagle News) – A magnitude 6.9 quake rocked Davao del Sur Sunday afternoon, Dec. 15, and was felt at intensity 7 in at least two towns, Matanao and Magsaysay.

Malacanang said that President Rodrigo Duterte and his family were safe after the quake struck Davao.

The tremor was felt at intensity 5 in Davao City where President Duterte’s family are.

A Palace statement said that President Duterte was with her youngest daughter Kitty in their house in Davao City when the quake struck.

The Palace added that “the President’s partner Honeylet Avanceña was on her way home when the ground rumbled and moved.”

“She said the car she was riding was swaying. They are unhurt,” the statement added.

The Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) also recorded several strong aftershocks after the first quake that struck at 2:11 p.m., the strongest of which was at magnitude 5.2 and followed by two magnitude 4.0 tremors at various times.

The magnitude 6.9 quake was also very shallow, striking at a depth of only 3 meters, which was why it was felt in more areas at strong intensities.

The quake’s epicenter was located at nine kilometers northwest of Matanao, Davao del Sur.

The magnitude 5.2 aftershock was recorded about an hour later, at 3:09 p.m.  The magnitude 4.0 aftershocks were separately recorded later at 3:49 p.m. and 4:51 p.m., all in Matanao town.

The 6.9 magnitude quake was felt in the following areas which had previously been rocked by tremors:
Intensity VII – Matanao & Magsaysay, Davao del Sur
Intensity VI – Kidapawan City; General Santos City; Bansalan, Davao del Sur; Alabel & Malapatan,
Sarangani; Koronadal City
Intensity V – Tulunan & Matalam, Cotabato; Cotabato City; Davao City; Glan, Sarangani
Intensity III – Kalilangan, Talakag & Dangcagan, Bukidnon
Intensity II – Impasugong, Bukidnon; Cagayan de Oro City; Dipolog City
Intensity I – Zamboanga del Sur

Instrumental Intensities:
Intensity VIII – Malungon, Sarangani
Intensity VI – Alabel, Sarangani; Kidapawan City
Intensity V – General Santos City; Koronadal City; Tupi, South Cotabato
Intensity III – Gingoog City
Intensity II – Zamboanga City; Kiamba, Sarangani