UPDATED: All NCR mayors proclaimed, including eight incumbents

Manila and Malabon elect first-ever female mayors; six other bets elected in NCR are incumbent lawmakers

The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) office in Intramuros, Manila (Eagle News Service)

(Eagle News) – All the Metro Manila mayoralty candidates have already been proclaimed as of Wednesday May 11, due to the early canvassing of election returns of the May 9, 2022 automated elections.

In the list of proclaimed Metro Manila mayors are seven women, four of whom are incumbents.

They are Quezon City Mayor Joy Belmonte, Makati City mayor Abby Binay, Las Pinas City mayor Imelda Aguilar, and Pasay City mayor Emi Calixto-Rubiano

The two other women mayoralty candidates were former vice-mayors who won on May 9 to lead their respective cities. They are Honey Lacuna, elected the first ever female city mayor of Manila, and Jeannie Sandoval who is also the first female mayor of Malabon City.

In Taguig City, Rep. Lani Cayetano, who has been the lawmaker for the district since 2019, was elected mayor, replacing her brother-in-law, Lino Cayetano.  This is a comeback for Lani Cayetano since she had served as Taguig City mayor in 2010.

-Four other incumbents win fresh terms, Abalos makes a comeback as mayor-

Pasig City mayor Vico Sotto, Marikina City mayor Marcelino “Marcy” Teodoro, San Juan City mayor Francis Zamora, and Pateros mayor Miguel “Ike” Ponce III also won a fresh term as mayor in their respective cities.

Former Commission on Elections chair Benjamin Abalos Sr., was elected as Mandaluyong City mayor, a position he held 24 years ago.  Incumbent mayor Menchie Abalos, his daughter-in-law, was elected vice-mayor, running unopposed.

On the other hand, the five other candidates who won and were proclaimed as mayors in their respective cities are incumbent congressmen. They are Rep. Ruffy Biazon of Muntinlupa City, Deputy Speaker Wes Gatchalian of Valenzuela City, Rep. John Rey Tiangco of Navotas City,  Rep. Eric Olivarez of Paranaque City, and Rep. Dale Malapitan of Caloocan City.

-All in the family, as bets switch places with incumbent relatives-

Rep. Wes Gatchalian replaces his brother, former mayor Rex Gatchalian who was elected as congressmen.

Elected mayor, incumbent Rep. John Rey Tiangco also switched places with his brother former mayor Toby Tiangco who ran as the lone district representative of Navotas City.

Newly proclaimed Muntinlupa City mayor Biazon replaces incumbent mayor Jaime Fresnedi who was elected as lawmaker, with the two virtually switching places in government.

Rep. Eric Olivarez, now mayor-elect, would also virtually switch places with his brother incumbent mayor Edwin Olivarez who won as district representative of Paranaque City.

Caloocan City Rep. Dale “Along” Malapitan will also switch places with his father, incumbent mayor Oscar “Oca” Malapitan who was elected as congressman on May 9.

The list of the proclaimed Metro Manila mayors are the following:

Quezon City mayor – Joy Belmonte
Pasig City mayor – Vico Sotto
Muntinlupa City mayor – Ruffy Biazon
Marikina City mayor – Marcy Teodoro
Valenzuela City mayor – Wes Gatchalian
Makati City mayor – Abigail “Abby” Binay
Manila City mayor – Honey Lacuna
San Juan City mayor – Francis Zamora
Navotas City mayor – John Rey Tiangco
Malabon City mayor – Jeannie Sandoval
Las Pinas City mayor – Imelda Aguilar
Pateros mayor – Miguel “Ike” Ponce III
Paranaque City mayor – Eric Olivarez
Caloocan City mayor –  Dale Malapitan
Taguig City mayor – Lani Cayetano
Mandaluyong City mayor – Benjamin Abalos Sr.
Pasay City mayor – Emi Calixto-Rubiano

(Updated as of May 11, 2022)

(Eagle News Service)