Updated: Albay province, Zamboanga City approved for inclusion in ECQ areas

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque holds a virtual press briefing in Malacanang on Monday, May 4, 2020. (Screengrab of PCOO video/Courtesy PCOO)


(Eagle News) – Malacanang has approved the inclusion of the province of Albay and Zamboanga City in the areas under enhanced community quarantine as had been earlier recommended by the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID).

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque earlier said that the IATF had already forwarded this recommendation to President Rodrigo Duterte.

The local officials of Albay and Zamboanga City have earlier asked for an ECQ in their areas because of the high incidence of COVID-19 there.

Because of the decision, areas presently under ECQ are the following: National Capital Region; Region 3 (Central Luzon) except Aurora; Region 4-A (Calabarzon); Pangasinan; Benguet; Iloilo province including Iloilo City; Cebu province including Cebu City; City of Bacolod; City of Davao, Albay province; and Zamboanga City.

The ECQ in these areas is effective from May 1 until May 15.

Courtesy PCOO

Roque said on Monday, May 4, that in the latest IATF meeting, the members recommended the “inclusion” of Zamboanga City and the province of Albay.

Sa kahulihulihang pagpupulong ng IATF nagkaroon ng rekomendasyon na isama ang probinsya ng Albay at Zamboanga City sa mga lugar na mananatili sa ECQ,” he said.

(Eagle News Service)